Hakeem Nicks to the Colts!…and a Little About Me

The Indianapolis Colts and former New York Giants wide receiver, Hakeem Nicks, have reportedly agreed on a 1 year deal according to ESPN. It’s not yet known how much the deal is worth, but I would imagine it’s a, “earn your next contract” type of deal. There’s no question Nicks’ production has significantly dropped the last couple seasons, and whether that’s because of all the injuries he’s had, or just inconsistency from Eli Manning, Nicks will have to get back to his old ways if he wants to keep playing in the NFL.

Image

That being said, Hakeem Nicks will be the first real big receiver Andrew Luck has had in his short career. Nicks along side Reggie Wayne, who says he should be good for training camp next season after rehabbing from a torn ACL, combined with T.Y. Hilton in the slot, should provide Luck with all the talent he needs to put up some very solid numbers. What do you think? Can Hakeem Nicks return to his number 1 receiver self? or will his struggles continue?

In other news, the Philadelphia Eagles and Saints agreed on a trade for Darren Sproles, after the Saints decided not to release the young stunner. The Saints will get a 5th round draft pick out of it, and the way it’s looking now, Mark Ingram is going to eventually take over the starting role in New Orleans. I’ll keep an eye on that and let you guys know if anything comes up.

Now here’s a little bit about me, Dana Kurtz, in case any of you were wondering who’s behind the screen.

Image

Yep, that’s me. Ignore the cheesy-ness of the photo, some friends and I were recreating scenes from our favorite movies (Fight Club in this case). Speaking of which, I’m very interested in film and making short films with my film group, Novel Concept Productions. We are small, but passionate, just like I am about sports!

I guess a little more detail about me would be fitting now. Well, I’m 22, about to graduate from the University of Florida with my Bachelors Degree in Telecommunications. I’m not quite sure what I want to do with that yet, but I am fairly certain that I will be joining the Air Force when I graduate, hopefully as an Officer. I can also see myself running a sports talk show in the distant future! Lets see here, OH, I also love animals, especially this big doof:Image

That’s Achilles, pretty much the best dog ever am I right? He, just like myself, is a HUGE Green Bay Packers fan. Lastly, I’ll leave you with this: If you follow this blog and would like to start seeing specific updates, whether that be on your favorite team, player or anything in the NFL, let me know in the comments. I will do my best to accommodate all! See you guys next week!

-Dana Kurtz

Leave a Reply

